The earth beneath you

The Sound of the Baton - The Revolution of Beauty
BMC season pass 02




19:00 - 21:30


Budapest Music Center, Koncertterem
1093 Budapest Mátyás u. 8.

Ticket prices

3 000 Ft


Loyalty programme

Then God said, 'Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb that yields seed, and the fruit tree that yields fruit according to its kind, whose seed is in itself, on the earth.' And it was so. And the earth brought forth grass, the herb that yields seed according to its kind, and the tree that yields fruit, whose seed is in itself according to its kind. And God saw that it was good.
The first source of beauty: the earth where we live. Beethoven sings its praises, Máté Balogh sings Beethoven's praises - and there will be revelry, there will be storms, and then the sun will shine and the rainbow will rise.

The eponymous poem of the concert series, the famous poem by Sándor Weöres, touches on the three spheres of existence, and the performances will explore these three spheres. Praise for the Earth is a recurring theme in art, and Beethoven's Sixth is one of the most important works on this theme in music: it evokes a sense of 'back to nature', rural romanticism, the overwhelming power of nature in the storm movement, and finally the rainbow, the much sought-after sign of peace. Máté Balogh is one of the most outstanding composers in Hungary, and at only thirty-two years of age, he boasts the most commissions in this country, and not without reason. His humorous, versatile and highly original music can quickly find its way to even the most closed ears. The piece was commissioned by Máté Hámori and written in the summer of 2022, specifically as a pair piece for the Beethoven Symphony. During the concert, the conductor will talk about the context of the works, the questions of performance and the power of music. The concert is recommended for those who are open to a musical journey accompanied by an explanatory and illuminating performance.


Balogh Máté
Sinfonia Nr. 2 Omaggio a Luigi Beethoven (ősbemutató)

VI. 'Pastorale' szimfónia, op. 68